The votes are in!!!

28 May 2010 | 0 comments

The results of the Y Vote Mock Election 2010 have been counted and students across the country have voted for the Liberal Democrats as the party that they most want to see in government.

We combined our results with Google School Elections and found that the Lib Dems came top in 50.7% of the constituency areas that were involved in the elections.  This means that they got 50.7% of all constituency ‘seats’ involved. 

The conservative party received 24.9% of the seats whilst Labour came in third with 15.9%.  This differs from the results of the real general election in which Labour got a larger 39% of the vote.  In the mock elections, smaller ‘independent’ parties achieved 8% of the seats – larger than the amount than in the general election, in which they got only 4%.  The mock elections team has been especially pleased to see so many students make up their own parties and own manifestos. 

The full results are (in terms of number of seats and % of seats):

Liberal Democrats: 191 (50.7%)
Conservative Party: 94 (24.9%)
Labour: 60 (15.9%)
Independents: 8 (2.1%)
Green Party: 7 (1.9%)
Plaid Cymru: 5 (1.3%)
Scottish Nationalist Party: 5 (1.3%)
Sinn Fein: 2 (0.5%)
Monster Raving Loony: 2 (0.5%)
Ulster Unionist Party (UUP): 1 (0.3%)
Respect: 1 (0.3%)
Socialist Labour: 1 (0.3%)

This year’s mock election has been a particularly interesting one and many schools really engaged with the spirit of the general election.  Students really took on board all of the challenges involved with a real election, from writing speeches, appearing in ‘leader’s T.V debate style assemblies’ and canvassing.  Well done!!

Click here for a full constituency breakdown of Mock Election results to see how your votes contributed to the final result:

Click here to visit our HeadRoom discussion space to discuss several topics to do with our new government including ‘Enough women in Government?’ and ‘Will a coalition government be good for the environment?’  Watch out for the new HeadsUp forum from 21st June 2010 – 9th July 2010.  Click here to find out more and to register for the site.


Add Comment